Skip to Content
Get Help! Call Us Today. 417-545-3775

Waiting Period for a Workers’ Comp Claim

Webster & Carlton

Waiting Period for a Workers’ Compensation Claim

Before you can collect certain workers’ compensation benefits, a required amount of time must pass.

Workers who are injured in Missouri have the right to file a workers’ compensation claim for benefits, which can provide coverage for lost wages, medical expenses, and disability. However, before certain benefits are paid, a waiting period must be satisfied. Consider the following about the workers’ compensation claim waiting period, as well as other important deadlines for obtaining benefits.

What is the Workers’ Compensation Waiting Period in Missouri?

When a worker is injured in Missouri and has to miss work as a result of the injury, he or she may be entitled to wage replacement benefits. However, before these benefits are paid, the waiting period must be satisfied. In Missouri, the waiting period is three days. If the disability that prevents the worker from returning to work lasts three days or fewer, then no disability/wage replacement benefits will be paid. On the other hand, if the disability lasts for more than three days, wage replacement benefits are recoverable. If the disability prevents the worker from returning to work for 14 days or more, then benefits will also be paid for the first three days of missed work. For example, in a situation in which a workplace injury prevented a worker from returning to work for 10 days, that worker would only be eligible for seven days of compensation (10 minus the first three days). On the other hand, if the worker missed 15 days of work, he or she could recover compensation for all 15 days.

Important Workers’ Compensation Deadlines

Keep in mind that even if you suffer harm that precludes you from returning to work for 14 days or more and you are therefore entitled to compensation, you will not be able to recover any workers’ compensation benefits if you do not adhere to certain deadlines. One of the most important deadlines that you need to be aware of is the requirement to inform your employer of the workplace incident and your injuries immediately. If you do not report your injury within 30 days, you may be permanently barred from recovering workers’ compensation benefits. If you decide to file a claim with the Division of Workers’ Compensation, you must do so within two years’ time, which is the statute of limitations on workers’ compensation claims in Missouri.

Work with Our Missouri Workers’ Compensation Attorneys

Understanding how workers’ compensation works and what benefits you may be eligible to receive can be confusing. If you are offered less than you think is fair or your claim is denied, you may be unsure of where to turn. When you work with our experienced Missouri workers’ compensation lawyers at The Law Firm of Webster & Carlton, we can guide you through everything you need to know and improve your chances of a fair workers’ compensation settlement. Please call us today or send us a message to schedule your free consultation and get started.